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Florida Department of Health 

Bureau of Vital Statistics 
www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DEATH CERTIFICATE 
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

 

IMPORTANT:  When you receive the death certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics, you MUST forward the 

certificate to the Florida Department of State for the Apostille/Notarial Certificate process. Please see reverse side for 

our online ordering option through VitalChek, our only contracted vendor.  
 

 

Applicant Information (Eligibility Requirements on Reverse Side) 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 

Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent 

purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 
 

Applicant’s Name: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
    (Person requesting the record) 
 

 

Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________________ Apt. #: _________ 

 

City: _______________________________________________ State: ___________ ZIP Code: _______________________ 

 

Phone (with area code): _____________________________ email: ________________________________________________ 

 

Relationship to Person on Death Record: _________________________Signature: _________________________________  
 

If applicant is an attorney or funeral director, provide name of client you represent: _________________________________, 

 

client’s relationship to decedent: ___________________________, and your bar/professional license #: _________________. 

 

Information for Death Search 
 

Full Name on Death Record: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Sex: ______ Date of Death (If unknown, range of years): ________________________ Date of Birth: ________________________ 
 

Place of Death (City/County): _____________________________ Surviving Spouse: ________________________________ 
 

Social Security Number: ___________________________ Funeral Home Name: ___________________________________ 

 
 

Ordering Information (Eligibility Requirements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side) 

Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.                                                                          
              Fee           Quantity 

First Certificate: $5.00 - Check appropriate box:  

         WITHOUT Cause of Death          WITH Cause of Death (Eligibility Required) 

 

$5.00 X 
 

1 
= 

 
 

Additional Certificates WITHOUT Cause of Death:  $4.00 each   

 
 

X  
 

=  

Additional Certificates WITH Cause of Death:  $4.00 each  

 X  =  

Additional Years to be Search:  $2.00 per year. 

(Required when exact year is unknown. Maximum fee is $50.00). 

 

 
 

X  
 

=  

 

Rush Order (Optional): Rush orders are given priority processing and requires an additional 

$10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH”. Expedite shipping is NOT included. 

 

 
 

X 
 

 
 

=  

 

Shipping & Handling Fee per application (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery) 

 

 
 

X 
 

 
 

  = 
 

 

VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED FOR CAUSE OF DEATH 
(See reverse side for additional information and eligibility requirements.) 

  

  

 Total Amount Enclosed 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA DEATH CERTIFICATE APPLICATION  
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

If you need assistance, please call our Apostille Unit at 904-359-6900, ext. 9006. 

 

Foreign embassies or consulates often require an apostille or notarial certificate for vital record certificates. The 1961 Hague Convention established the apostille as a form of 

authentication for its member states. The apostille certifies the authenticity of the issuing official’s signature. Countries that are nonmembers of the 1961 Hague Convention 
are issued notarial certificates, which also authenticates the issuing official’s signature. The Florida Secretary of State is the only designated Competent Authority to issue 

apostilles in the State of Florida. 
 

Before ordering, we urge you to contact the nearest consulate or embassy for the country in which you will be using the apostille or notarial certificate to obtain 

their requirements for the vital record certificate. 

 

Obtaining an Apostille or Notarial Certificate is a two-step process: 

If you wish to expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront  VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. VitalChek will collect 

your ordering information and credit card payment for both steps of the process. Our office will forward your vital record certificate via UPS to the Florida Department of 

State, Division of Corporations for the apostille process. Once the process is completed, the Florida Department of State will send the certificates via UPS to you. Please note, 

VitalChek charges an additional $7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees.  
 

To order by mail, you must complete both steps separately: 

1. Complete this application to obtain a death certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.  

2. Once the death certificate is received, you must forward it to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the Apostille/ Notarial Certificate.  
Please visit their website at www.dos.myflorida.com or contact 850-245-6945 for information regarding their application, requirements, processing time, fees, etc.  

Mailing:  Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, P.O. Box 6800, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6800 

Walk in/Courier Delivery: Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, 2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810, Tallahassee, FL 32303. 
 

AVAILABILITY: Some records are on file dating back to 1877, but not all events were registered. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Section 119.071, Florida Statutes):  Social security numbers held by the Department of Health on death certificates are confidential and 
will only be issued to an eligible person requesting a confidential record, regardless of the date of death. Therefore, the first five digits of the decedent’s social security number 

will be redacted when issuing a public record request. 
 

ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes): 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death on the record. 
 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant of legal age. Death records less than 50 years old 
with the cause of death information included may only be issued to: 

1. The decedent’s spouse or parent 

2. The decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age 
3. To any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates an interest in the estate of the decedent 

4. To any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons 

5. By court order 
All requests for a death certificate that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility or be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release 

Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) signed by an eligible person (form is available on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both the person 

authorizing release and the applicant.  
If requesting cause of death, the funeral home of record or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the 

name and relationship of the person they are representing. If funeral home is not representing an eligible person or not the funeral home of record, then a completed Affidavit 

to Release Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) must accompany the request. 
 

UNKNOWN DATE OF DEATH: If date of death is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is unknown, specify the span of years to be searched 

(Example: 1970 to present) and include payment of $2.00 per year for each year to be searched. Maximum fee is $50.00 regardless of the number of years to be searched. 
 

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING:  Eligible applicant must provide a completed application. A copy of a valid photo identification and any supporting documentation is 
required when requesting the cause of death portion.  

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION: Driver License, State Identification Card, Passport, Military Identification Card. For mail-in requests, include a 

copy of the front and back of the ID.  A foreign issued driver license, identification card, consular card, or Matricula card require two additional forms of identification, such 

as a vehicle title or registration, health insurance card, employment ID, school ID, tax document, or mail with current address. 

FEES:  Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. DO NOT SEND CASH. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars 

drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies 

when no record is found.  These may be refunded upon written request.  

OPTIONS FOR ORDERING:  

ONLINE:  To expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront with a credit card. VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. 

VitalChek charges an additional $7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees. 

MAIL IN (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY):  Normal processing time is 5-7 business days. If requesting RUSH service mark the outside of your envelope 

“RUSH”. Rush Orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders require a $1.00 Shipping and Handling Fee and are mailed 

Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided.  

WALK-IN SERVICE (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY): Visit 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am – 4:30 pm. Eligible 

applicants must present a valid ID when requesting confidential records. Photocopy certificates (records prior to 2009) require the $10 rush fee and may not be available for 

same day service.  

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO: 

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS 

ATTN:  APOSTILLE UNIT, P.O. BOX 210, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042 
 

Express Mail and Courier Deliveries to:  1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202 

 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:  www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

A $5 search fee is included in all orders and is non-refundable.  If no record is found, a certified “No Record Found” 

statement will be issued. Application must include signature of eligible applicant when cause of death is requested.  

http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.dos.myflorida.com/
http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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